Past
The Durack’s, originally from Galway, Ireland, were early settlers in the Kimberley, the first to take up extensive pastoral leases and to build a permanent home in the region.
They arrived with cattle from western Queensland in the mid 1880s having undertaken, during the years 1883–85, one of the longest cattle drives in history with the aim of establishing a pastoral industry along the fertile Ord River, land of the Miriuwung Gajerrong. That the Durack’s succeeded in this aim was due largely to the trust and cooperation received from those people.
Argyle Downs Homestead was built by ‘Patsy’ Durack with assistance from his sons, Michael (MPD), John (JWD) and others. Completed in 1895 on the banks of the Behn river at a time when conditions and life in Kimberley were often harsh and unpredictable, the original homestead was, for its time, spacious and comfortable with wide, shaded verandahs and breezeways throughout.
Over time, yards, outbuildings and a large Indigenous community sprang up around the homestead. It was central to the vast family enterprise that at its peak comprised five stations, encompassing an area the size of Belgium. The Argyle Homestead maintained this position until the stations were sold in 1950. The physical and human environment of Argyle was also a primary source of inspiration for Patsy Durack’s granddaughters, Mary and Elizabeth, who as young women in the 1930s, collaborated on a variety of artistic projects.
Once the Ord River Dam was completed, in early 1971, Lake Argyle began to fill more rapidly than anyone anticipated. The Homestead was dismantled stone by stone, stored in Kununurra, and rebuilt towards the end of the decade, 15km from its original position. In 1979 the building was opened as a museum, dedicated to the pioneering spirit of the Durack family. The Homestead is now managed by the Kununurra Visitor Centre and provides a wonderful opportunity for visitors to learn about the lives of the region’s early pioneers.

Mary, Elizabeth and Reg Durack
Present Time
The Homestead is presented as an 1890’s home, although the gardens and lawns are green and lush. Our Caretaker/Managers ensuring the grounds are well maintained, the building is clean and in great condition to present the history to our many visitors who frequent the grounds each year.
Acknowledgement Room
At the request of the Durack family, an Aboriginal Acknowledgement Room was completed in 2023 with its official opening in 2024 by the Honorable Melissa Price MP and a number of Durack family descendants in attendance.

Visitors to the homestead
Come and see us at the Argyle Homestead Museum, and get a fascinating insight into the lives of our pastoral pioneers. Walk through the 1890s home of the famous Durack family, relax in the grounds and enjoy our hospitality. Coffee, tea, cool drinks, water and chocolates are available to purchase, and we also have a great range of books, DVDs, drink coolers, tea towels and so much more!

Wildlife onsite
There is so much bird and wildlife around the grounds of the Museum. From Gouldian Finches to the very charismatic Patsy the resident Bowerbird.

Companion Card Accepted
It is a pleasure to accept Companion Cards at Argyle Homestead Museum.
40th Anniversary
On June 15th 2019 over 300 people gathered at the Homestead to celebrate 40 years since the building was opened as a museum. Traditional Owners, community leaders, State Minister Ben Wyatt, 60 members of the Durack family as well as visitors from near and far came together to reflect, acknowledge and look forward. A set of framed images and a new and updated family tree were unveiled, and are now on display at the Museum for visitors to enjoy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFi8r8E8cns
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pbmu0qNJKqIhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5q966YyT1Ihttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgsN5_Urfg4
Location
With so much history about the Durack Family and their quest to travel from one side of the country to the other, in some very difficult conditions, its definitely worth a visit to the Museum.
Address
Lake Argyle Road, Lake Argyle, WA 6743
Entry Fees
Adults (15 yrs +): $7.50
Children (up to 14 yrs): $4.00
Family (2 Adults, 2 Children): $15.00
Opening Hours
Open daily from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm between the 1st April and the 30th September each year.
Phone
0400 967 834
Review
Be sure to leave your review on Google, Facebook or Tripadvisor
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
|---|









